While I’ve been away…

Uath Lochan 2

Uath Lochan, Glen Feshie, Cairngorms.

It seems an age, so much has happened in between, but I just don’t seem to have had the time to sit down and write anything bloggable. So this is by way of a catch-up.

‘Maya’ came out on my birthday, celebrating with a launch in the Scottish Poetry Library. I played tenor sax solo before and after reading the poems, to match the cover image. Lots of friends came, including several I wasn’t expecting to see. It was a lovely day.

Since then I’ve read from it at Dunbar Craft Studio, Vibrant Musselburgh, and the Callander Poetry Weekend, as well as doing an Edinburgh reading for Christine De Luca at the Edinburgh City Museum in the Royal Mile.

I took in a little bit of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, but I gave the Book Festival a miss this year – I went to a lot there last year.

Jane got her second cataract operation, and it went very well. We also had a disastrous experience with double glazing, and they’re coming back today to fix the messes they made last time. So I’m deskbound at the moment. Monday morning would normally be one of my gym sessions, but I’ll go tomorrow instead.

We got back from a short break at Feshiebridge, in the Cairngorms. It’s our only real break this year, mainly because of the uncertainties over Jane’s operation date. We may try to have a city break later. I could fancy Durham, but anywhere really.

On the writing side, I’m editing a lot of my short stories, in preparation for putting together a book for next year. And I’ve been reading fiction submissions for Postbox Press.

Altogether, keeping busy, so nothing really changes.

 

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

