Sequencing the collection

When I was publishing poetry collections under the Calder Wood Press imprint I always took a great deal of care placing poems in a sequence I thought made sense. It was one of the things I enjoyed most about publishing. I also tried to do it with my own poetry books.

Now there’s the new one:

scan0014_th

I can honestly say I took more care and expended more thought over the sequence of poems here than in any other collection I’ve written. Why? I think that having a structure, even an implied structure rather than an explicit one, makes a collection easier to read. There are many themes in this, my ninth and largest poetry book, and I’ve tried to ensure that the themes are linked, possibly through ideas, more often through words in one poem reflected in the next, even if the themes are different. I don’t suppose many readers, other than possibly some critics, will notice the connections, but I know they’re there.

I hope that readers will enjoy the poems as much as I did writing them, because I strongly believe that poetry is an act of communication between people. My late friend Brian Osborne, in his address to the Scottish Library Association awarding me Honorary Membership said that I was all about communication. It was true then. It is true now.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

