Writing short stories

I’ve been very discontented with my poetry writing lately. The few poems I’ve managed to finish this year have left me dissatisfied and unsure, and I’ve not been sending anything out to magazines for ages.

I know I’ve got other things to occupy my mind and my time just now, but that’s not the whole reason. Jane’s knee replacement operation was successful, and I’ve been looking after her since she got out of hospital. I am amazed at her progress, and I’m happy to do the cooking and housework – especially the cooking. It’s re-awakened my interest in cooking again – I used to be quite an adventurous cook.

I’ve been reading a lot of short stories lately, and I just suddenly had the idea to write a sequence of short stories set in the world of amateur drama – I acted and directed for twenty years, as well as sometimes doing lighting and sound. I loved being in the theatre, and I found the friendships and the camaraderie nourishing.

So I started on the first story, and it just seemed to come naturally. I’ve now written four in two weeks, and started on a fifth. I have no idea where I’m going with this, but I don’t want to stop just yet.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in short stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

