Judging writing

Like many other writers, from time to time I enter my work in competitions. Unlike the majority, from time to time I’m asked to judge these competitions, mostly for poetry, sometimes for prose as well. What do I look for in competition entries?

I like good writing quality, of course. A well-constructed story, or the use of a specific poetic form, are helpful frameworks, but that’s just the start of it. A story or a poem can break the ‘rules’ if the writer is skilful enough, but it’s always the content which matters most. The competition organisers will have set parameters – a word count for stories, or a maximum number of lines for poems – and that’s something a judge must observe. If I suspect an entry has gone over, I will check it. It’s sometimes surprising how many entrants don’t.

The topic is usually set by the organisers, unless it’s an ‘open’ competition, but there’s always a lot of latitude in how entrants can interpret the subject. It’s often amazing to see how ingenious entrants can be in modifying viewpoints and aspects of a subject. I enjoy that.

Coming to considerations of content, these have to be subjective; they’re dependent, literally, on the judgement of the assessor, and on their experience. I enjoy writing which has the capacity to surprise me – a writer with something new to say, or an original way of saying it. I don’t like the obvious, the banal, the clichéd. I don’t like writing which requires the reader to have a vast amount of background knowledge to understand it. I have to make an emotional connection to the work, even if that’s sometimes uncomfortable. If an entrant chooses to write from the viewpoint of a child killer or a suicide bomber, I will still evaluate the quality of the writing dispassionately.

So how do I go about it? I realise all competition judges are different, but this is my method. First, I read all of the entries straight through, without any attempt at grading or marking, but at this stage I can set aside those entries which don’t meet the competition criteria. Then, depending on the timescale and the number of entries, I might go away and do something else for a couple of days. Coming back to them, fresh, I read them again, and this time, using a table, I’ll start to look for the outstanding ones, the badly written ones, and the larger number in between. I make notes in my table, and I establish, in my head, a short list. Then I look again at the good ones and rank them. Finally, I read all the entries again, just to check that I haven’t overlooked any outstanding ones in the middle pile, or if I’ve misjudged anyone in the reject pile. After that, I decide on a 1, 2, 3, or however the organisers want to rank the winners, and that’s it.

It’s laborious, but, I think, fair, and I take it very seriously. It means a lot to those who have entered, and all judges owe it to them to do it as well as they can.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

