First publications

Getting professional

When I set out to publish poetry pamphlets (which was only in 2007, unbelievable as that sounds, even to me) I wanted to help some poets I knew reach a wider audience. So it was inevitable that I would be publishing the first books of many of my authors, even although that wasn’t actually a declared aim for Calder Wood Press. Then other friends were added to the list, and some new friends were suggested. The list built up.

Looking back at my records now, I’ve totalled them up, and I’m delighted to have launched the publication careers of sixteen poets. It’s always particularly gratifying to see how some of them have gone on to publish other books with other publishers, including some of the bigger outfits I can’t hope to compete with (not that I want to compete with them, of course).

In 2014 I won’t be bringing out any new titles, but I’ll concentrate on promoting and selling my existing stock, and on publishing Kindle versions of some current titles, with the agreement of their authors.

I hope that 2014 will be a good year for readers everywhere.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

