After Hawthornden

CW_at_Haw

A month away from everyday issues (well, nearly) and domestic duties. Four weeks to focus on my writing without internet connection or other distractions. Did it work? Oh yes, and then some.

I wrote 111 haibun, 53,000 words, and I’m happy with the quality. Frankly, at times I felt as if I was writing out of my skin. They just seemed to flow. After I got back on Saturday I spent some time putting them into a sequence which makes sense to me. I don’t want to have linear groupings – Monday I did this, Tuesday I did that – but there were subtle links between poems, often in the manner of renga. On Sunday I sent them off to my publisher, Red Squirrel Press, and by Monday night I had confirmation that the book, The Book of Ways, will be published next autumn.

Of course there’s a lot more work to be done on it, but I can be a bit more relaxed about it. And I’ve got time to write some non-haibun poems too. If I still can.

 

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

