Book covers

I’ve been thinking a lot about covers lately. You can’t judge a book by them, but they can make you pick the book up in the first place. And a bad one can make you walk past the book. So they’re important.

Most of my covers are suggested by images provided by authors. A good example of this is the one sent to me by Marion McCready.

Vintage_200

 

I thought it intriguing, and all I had to do was crop it and add the text. I found a font (Corsiva) which seemed to me to suit, so I used that.

Other Calder Wood Press covers based on author-supplied images are those by Alistair Noon, Eddie Gibbons and Kevin Cadwallender. Sometimes I’ll get the design idea myself, and use my own images. Probably the one I’m happiest with in this category is the one I used for Morgan Downie’s full-length collection stone and sea.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The inner view is from the harbour at Portsoy, through the window of a ruined cottage.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

