Old Stuff

Coming up to the end of the year, I find I’m in no mood to look back at the highlights (some were very high) and low points (some were desperately low) of 2012. Nor am I in the mood to list my favourite this’s or that’s from the year. It came in, it Leapt, it lasted, and it’s coming to an end. Let it go, there will be other years.

One thing I’m doing this week, which I haven’t done before, is to go back over old stuff. I always throw out poems which aren’t working for me. The ones I think I’ve finished, I send out to magazines. But most of these aren’t accepted by editors, for a variety of good and sufficient reasons. I may try a second and a third magazine for favourites, but after that they sit in their ‘unpublished’ directories on my hard drive. This week I’m going over these older poems, to see if any of them can be revised or edited into a form which might get them accepted. More importantly, they’ve got to satisfy me that they’re worthwhile creations. I’m starting at the year 2000. There are earlier ones, but I doubt if they’re redeemable – I was a different writer then.

So, in 2013, as well as the new poems I’m going to write, I hope to have a selection of born again poems to send out.

 

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old Stuff

  1. Johnni Stanton says:

    Stopped sending poems for publishing years ago when I realised those barstewards couldn’t judge dark from light if it was pointed out to them. 😀

  2. sunnydunny says:

    That’s two poems revised, and I’m much happier with them.

  3. sunnydunny says:

    I’m very pleased with the outcomes here, around 20 previously submitted and unsubmitted poems revised and edited.

Leave a Reply

