Quandariness

I have been in a quandary over what I should write about this week.  I thought I should maybe write about the shambles in the Poetry Society, having chaired the Boards of two other poetry organisations. And then I reconsidered. I really don’t want to get drawn in to a public debate on this, and besides, the numpties who did the damage have resigned.

Then I thought about writing about my attitude to revising poems, but I seem to remember I’ve written about this before, and I really can’t be fagged.

I also thought about my approach to reading poetry, which is an emotional one, rather than an intellectual one, but I thought it might start a debate with those of my friends who do approach poetry intellectually, analytically, and I don’t want to go there – it would end up as a nugatory bish-bash between contrary attitudes, and who needs that?

One thing I’m definitely not going to do is to comment on the riots, because I don’t live where they are, and what do I know anyway?

So I’ll just post a recent photo of my allotment, because I love growing things, and the produce is delicious and beautiful.

allotment

PS: Thanks to Gerry Loose for reminding me that the word quandariness appears in a Frank O’Hara poem, The Day Lady Died, which I should have remembered on account of it’s one of my favourite poems.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quandariness

Leave a Reply

