On blogging 2011

I get the impression that blogging has changed in the past year.  I know I read fewer blogs on a regular basis, and I think fewer people read mine. Partly I think it’s to do with the rise in popularity of Facebook: that seems to me to have widened the range of personal connections, while reducing communications to very short messages, or replies to messages. (Twitter is different. I find it unsatisfying and one-sided.) I like Facebook for its immediacy and range of opinion, to which I can respond or not depending on whether or not I feel like it. And I’ve sometimes set out to seek opinion on some issues, not to be controversial, but just to honestly listen to differing points of view.

I see the reduction in the number of comments on blog postings – my own and others’ – as some proof that I’m right about the cause, particularly when people comment on blog postings on Facebook, rather than at the end of a blog.

However, I’m eternally grateful to poetry blogs in particular, for introducing me to people who’ve become friends in real life, and I include here here some I’ve gone on to publish – Marion McCready,  Morgan Downie, and a 2012 author Ross Wilson. Juliet Wilson I knew already, but her blog is excellent, and her postings were one of the reasons I wanted to publish her.

I hope the blogosphere isn’t in decline, but it’s changing, and I think the role and function of the blog needs to be redefined so it stays relevant and interesting. What do others think?

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On blogging 2011

  1. Michael Harrison says:

    It is more of a fuss to comment on blogs than it once was, there are a lot of filters to go through and it has become a fashion to respond privately, by email, a resurgence of an old medium.

    And there are a lot of blogs to read these days som old bloggers have to share their attention time with new entries.

  2. I agree but I think there will come a point of rising dissatisfaction with the limitations of Facebook and possibly a revival in blogging. I know through stats that I have a much greater, regular readership than actual comments to my blog suggest and I think this is probably widely the case.

  3. Jim Murdoch says:

    I have made some efforts to come out of my shell this year. Marion encouraged me to become more active on Facebook and I’ve tried but I find it a dissatisfying and ultimately frustrating experience on the whole. It’s not that there’s not some interesting stuff on there because there is in fact I had a nice wee interchange with Marion this morning but when her blog post appeared in my feedreader I found I could then actually say something. Facebook is fine for keeping people aware of you but not for meaningful exchanges. I like it because I can go off topic – I do have other interests other than writing – but as for letting people know what mood I’m in … seriously, who cares, and, more importantly, who has time to care? My biggest gripe is how much crap you have to wade through – Whadyamacallit is now friends with Thingamyjig and Whojimaflip’s gone and changed his profile picture again – to get to the meaningful stuff.

    I think as people get older and more and more dissatisfied communicating in snippets they’ll move onto blogs.

  4. Rachel Fox says:

    Facebook will go out of fashion soon… and then what next… the new google thing? I tend to use facebook more for family and friends and not so much for what I call ‘work’ (and now many of the writing bloggers are firmly in the ‘friends’ category anyway).

  5. sunnydunny says:

    Thanks for the interesting comments so far. I’ll do a follow-up posting soon with my thoughts on where blogging and other social networking sites might go.

Leave a Reply

