The Makar-ship

 

I know I said I was having a wee break, but I can’t resist this one. On Thursday night in Glasgow’s Gallery of Modern Art I was formally installed as Makar to the Federation of Writers (Scotland). This is the Makar’s Shield, and the lower inscription reads “The Members’ chosen poet.”  I know there are other Makars in Scotland (and they’re all friends of mine), but as far as I know this one’s the only one where the members choose, and that’s hugely important to me. With three other events going on in Glasgow that night, it was lovely to see so many folk at this event.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Makar-ship

  1. Jim Murdoch says:

    Pleased fro you. I actually stuck my head in about 2:30 and hung around for a wee while in case you appeared early not quite knowing how these things go. The poets were dead hard to make out especially those who for some strange reason opted not to use the microphone. A half-hour was as much as I could put up with it. Sorry I missed you.

  2. sunnydunny says:

    Thanks Jim. I got there around 4, and the presentation was at 5.30, so I heard several readers. Mike training is something I’m trying to push for writers in East Lothian.

  3. BarbaraS says:

    Lovely news, Colin, well-deserved. I love the word ‘Makar’ it says so much more than poet.

  4. sunnydunny says:

    Thanks Barbara. I must ask my friends in the Scottish Poetry Library how many Makars there are in Scotland now. I know Liz, and Magi, and Gerard, and Ron, and the vacancy in Glasgow, but I’m sure there are more.

Leave a Reply

