At the Loch of the Green Corrie

I enjoyed Andrew Greig’s poetry reading at the GRV recently, indeed I’ve been reading his poetry for a long time, probably back to Men On Ice. I like his voice; it’s distinctive and original – nobody else writes like him. Anyway, after the reading I decided to read his new (prose) book, At the Loch of the Green Corrie, and I’ve just finished it. I found it hugely interesting and enjoyable, with several personal connections to some of the people, places and subjects he covers.

So what’s it about? The main thread that runs through it is a quest, laid upon him by Norman MacCaig a few months before he died, to go to the Green Corrie in Assynt, and to catch a fish for him. Now, I know nothing about fishing, have never fished, apart from childhood guddling for trout in the Bonaly Burn, but this isn’t a book about fishing. It’s about Andrew’s journey, with his friends, his past life and loves, his memories, into Assynt, the place where Norman lived his summers, and which he loved above all other places. Andrew clearly loves the place too, as do many others, and his reflections cover, not just the landscape, the geology and the history, but the people who lived – and still live – there.

Impossible to summarise then, but if I call it a book of reflections that will come close to what it’s about. It’s a wonderful piece of writing, with a prose style which is as clear and elegant as any Highland lochan.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Loch of the Green Corrie

  1. Gordon Mason says:

    Hello Colin

    I’m really looking forward to reading this book, as like you I have enjoyed much of his work. A few years ago, I came across some of his early poetry – earlier than his poetry collection from 1970 This Life, This Life – in a Waid Academy magazine that features an article on the retiral of my father who was a teacher there. Some day I hope to be able to meet or correspond with him to see what he remembers of his time in Anstruther and his early writings. I know that he found his English teacher there a great influence on his desire to write.

  2. sunnydunny says:

    Hi Gordon. He’s very friendly and approachable.

Leave a Reply

