The next book

This is the cover of Juliet Wilson’s Unthinkable Skies, from one of Juliet’s own photographs. I think it’s gorgeous. The book is just about ready to go to the printers, and should be available in March, around the same time as Morgan Downie’s collection. I’m really pleased with the way it has come together, and I’ve enjoyed working with Juliet on it.

The next Calder Wood Press title will be from Geoff Cooper, then one from Christine Ford, an East Lothian poet whose work I have previously published in Poetry Scotland’s Open Mouse web page. Work by Mercedes Clarasó, Judith Stewart and Eddie Gibbons will complete my 2010 programme. I’m also bringing out a new edition of Mary Johnston’s Teuchat Storm.

In 2011 I’m reducing my programme to four titles, and they are now all confirmed. I’m not going to give details of authors just yet, but my decision to cut back is based on economics. I’ll blog more on this later, but I’m in a negative cashflow situation, and I need to let income catch up with expenditure. With my pension being my main source of income, and with my writing income partly subsidising my publishing activities, I have to be prudent.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The next book

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    I think publishing less next year doesn’t have to be a negative thing…just think of all the extra time to promote the books you’ve already put out! Plus some of us have only got so much cash to spend on poetry books.

    And we know one of next year’s authors already…

    x

  2. sunnydunny says:

    Thanks Rachel. I’m calling it ‘consolidation’. Promotion is something I like doing – I believe (passionately) in my authors – but marketing and distribution are areas where a one-person publishing house is at a disadvantage. I’m looking at options just now. I need to ‘catch the wave’ on promoting Judy, Juliet, Morgan and Geoff in the next couple of months. Plus my own new book is coming from Red Squirrel Scotland in April. No piggy-bank should be safe! Think of it as an investment, and no big bonuses will be paid.

  3. sorlil says:

    I love the cover. It’s almost half-painting, half-photo.

  4. Davide Trame says:

    Dear Colin, as you know I live In Italy, is there any chance that some friends of mine can find Unthinkable Skies in Oxford, near where they live, and buy it for me? They are coming to Venice around the 20th of March, I think it would be the easiest way for me to have Juliet’s collection.

    Best wishes, Davide

  5. sunnydunny says:

    Hi Davide. We’re just sorting out the printing at the moment, so it will be a few weeks before it’s available. The easiest way for you to get it will be to order it through the website when it’s published. I’ll cover postage to Italy.
    Colin

Leave a Reply

