Dream poem

Same old dream

It’s absurd, this dream
of preparing for a job interview.
As if, at my time of life,
I’d think of going back to work
for wages.

Every month my pension
drips into my bank account
where it’s absorbed by life’s
direct debits.

What’s left is enough to live on,
and to save for treats and journeys
to the compass points of exotica.
I am content.

So why do I see so vividly
the place I worked two jobs
and thirty years ago?
And why am I going for a new job
whose indefinition wakens me
into confusion?

In the dark room
I glance across at the clock
whose face I can’t see.
Still time.

Colin Will

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dream poem

  1. sorlil says:

    It’s odd how some things stay with us, I think I’ll be dreaming about my time in the fishfarm for the rest of my life!
    I like the conversational tone of this and really like the ending.

  2. sunnydunny says:

    Thanks sorlil. I find my dreams very confusing at times, and I wonder what’s going on in my subconscious. Have you written about your fish farm experiences?

  3. sorlil says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever considered it a subject for my poems, but never say never!!

  4. Barbara S says:

    Do you know, in Lidl in Ireland they are selling saxophones… odd but true – could be connected?

  5. sunnydunny says:

    Must visit my local Lidl and check it out.

Leave a Reply

