Book Fair

The 13th Edinburgh Independent & Radical Book Fair takes place from Wednesday 28th October to Sunday 1 November in the Out of the Blue Drill Hall, Dalmeny Street, Edinburgh. It features over 70 book stalls, schools events, a cafe/bar, films, exhibitions, music and many events and readings. To see the full programme visit the Word Power Books website. The Halloween Shindig on the 31st looks great to me, featuring Janice Galloway, Don Paterson, Kevin Williamson and Bashabi Fraser.

Word Power Books are looking after a selection of Calder Wood Press titles for me, as I’ll not be around for a large part of the time.  Calder Wood Press is most definitely independent; I’ve never considered applying for subsidy from any source – after a while the business became self-sustaining. The ‘radical’ part is not something I’ve thought much about as a publisher. The causes I support and the values I espouse, are personal to me, and they don’t come into my decision-making about publishing. I have no idea, because I’ve never asked, if any CWP authors have radical views on any subject. It’s always their literary qualities that attract me to want to publish them. Of course it’s possible that, as they’re friends of mine, several have a broadly similar libertarian outlook to mine, an equal concern for environmental issues, or perhaps a shared political background. But I don’t know. It’s the poetry that counts.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

