Anyone At Home?

The subject of Home has been on my mind of late. The Homecoming programme enabled StAnza to bring poets with Scottish connections to St Andrews from all parts of the world, so I’ve got very positive feelings about it. When I was planning my workshop programme for Moray’s book festival – Get Moray Reading – I decided to use ‘home’ within two of them. For the adult group, in Elgin Library, the theme was ‘No Place Like Home’. This gave us the opportunity to explore what home means to us; how it shifts through the years as we move and change, and how relationships form an integral part of the experience of home. It turned out to be a very interesting and productive workshop. Home means different things to different people. The following day at Buckie Community High School I set the theme of ‘Away From Home’, and I was inspired by the work of the pupils in interpreting it. Again I suggested three 4-line sections, one on the apprehension and uncertainty of moving away from home; one on the excitement and anticipation of the move, and the third on the personal side – family, friends and other contacts. Between each section I read examples of poems exploring the different emotions. Plus I had brought along a variety of objects I had collected on my own travels – a prayer wheel from Lhasa, a stone from Shetland.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anyone At Home?

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    It’s one of the huge can’t-escape-it themes (home) isn’t it? I seem to have been writing about it on and off all year this year too!
    I’ve moved home a lot (as a child and as an adult) so my idea of home is very, very vague and (sometimes) extremely confused.
    x

  2. sunnydunny says:

    The variety (and intensity) of experience makes it a very productive subject for poetry. The children mostly had the idea of home as being a safe and secure centre to which they could return, but the adults had different ideas, and the poetry they created reflected this. It was fascinating too, to see the extent to which the participants were willing to share their work with the others, and the way that changed. I’ll probably return to that subject at some point.

Leave a Reply

