Ebooks

I was exchanging messages with my novelist friend Stephanie Taylor  yesterday, and she mentioned that she’s used myebook.com to publish some of her other work. It struck me that I could maybe do that for my out-of-print titles, because at least folk would be able to read them, even if they can’t get hold of printed copies.

The obvious first one to go for was Mementoliths (2005), for the following reasons:

  1. It was self-published, so there are no copyright issues.
  2. The first printing was very unsatisfactory. I used a printer who – at his insistence – took origination from me at A4 and photo-reduced it in a kind of high-tech photocopier to A5. The print came out too small to read.
  3. I wanted to add some new poems and descriptions.
  4. I wanted to add a coloured cover.

I have to admit it took me a wee while to get it right. The PDF had to be set for single-page output, and I had to include the cover as page 1, etc. But it’s there now. The link is on the sidebar (must find time to do a proper blogroll), and you can let me know what you think. It has a neat page-turner type dohickey.

Mementoliths 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Why the title? Well, I trained in earth sciences, esp geology, geochemistry and geophysics, and I used to collect rocks from my travels. The rocks served as mementoes of people and places, and triggered poems which had a bearing on my memories. So I invented a word. Catchy, innit?

Travelling again tomorrow, to Durham Botanic Garden to write up another walk for the Home to a king (3) project.

P.S. I’ve decided that the next ebook project will be a mini-compilation of the poetry cards I did back in 1998.

P.P.S. The second ebook is now published. Link here.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ebooks

  1. that sounds like a great resource,

  2. Sally Evans says:

    you can e book the two diehard titles if you want, because they are out of print, Colin. and we say go for it!
    However with poems there is often something to be said for making a selection of the best ones out of two/three older books rather than reproducing them entirely. You cant make retrospective selected fiction in the same way.

  3. sunnydunny says:

    That’s very good of you Sally, but I’m hoping to get a ‘Selected’ published in 2012 (in my 70th year, which is as good a milestone as any), and that will include some from 13 Ways and 7 Senses. It’s been a very interesting experience putting these ebooks together though.

Leave a Reply

