Computing woes

I’ve been having a lot of computer crashes for some time now, and I decided to bite the bullet and get a hard drive wipe and reinstall. The crashes weren’t ‘blue screen of death’ ones, they were worse – the thing went straight to black and restarted, or tried to. I couldn’t even restart in safe mode. So I backed up my files and took the ailing PC into my local repairman. He phoned me today to say that the hard drive is clapped out, and so is the motherboard. He’ll fit new ones for me, and I should have it back soon, but in the meantime I’m working with my trusty laptop. It doesn’t spell as well as the old desktop, and it doesn’t duplicate my software completely, for copyright reasons – I’m a law-biding citizen of Sunny Dunny after all. So while I can do word processing, publishing work and basic image editing, I can’t do website editing, accounting and some of the other tasks I do on the desktop. Needless to say backlogs are building up.

One weird thing is that although the laptop doesn’t have a spam filter on email, the spam volume is way lower than it was before. Are the spammers on holiday?

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in computer crash. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Computing woes

  1. BarbaraS says:

    Maybe they are – I'm getting less spam lately… sorry to hear about your 'puter woes. There's nothing worse than not having your computer the way it should be. Still, I bet when you get it back it'll run as smooth as anything. And then you can catch up with the backlog… urk!

  2. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Barbara. Just back from the airport seeing son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren off home, and I've collected the 'puter from the shop. It'll probably take me a couple of days to reinstall programms and documents.

  3. Colin Will says:

    Documents are OK, but I've lost some of my photos. It looks like some didn't write to disk properly.

Leave a Reply

