Today’s poem

It’s been a very busy week, but the final version of the Springburn Park walk went off this morning, the arrangements are in hand for the launches tomorrow and Friday, and I’ve updated the sales page of the Calder Wood Press site with the new titles. Sitting in the garden this afternoon, I managed to write something new.

Poem removed for editing

A great launch for Dave Purdie’s The Godothin last night, and I’m looking forward to Mary Johnston’s launch on Friday.

Update on The Big Send-out:
One of the best magazines for speed of response is Smiths Knoll, and one of the Kindly Editors (Michael Laskey) kept up the track record this time. He didn’t take my poems for the magazine, but he responded quickly and with courtesy.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in book launches, poetry submissions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today’s poem

  1. Crafty Green Poet says:

    wonderful – 'the wind that comes from a direction that doesn't exist…'

  2. Rachel Fox says:

    I like the vagueness in this…a calm confusion…
    x

  3. Elizabeth M Rimmer says:

    I like this very much. A very familiar experience.

  4. apprentice says:

    If it is a Dunbar wind it wil be a right cold one!

    Lovely marriage of the update and the mythical Colin.

  5. BarbaraS says:

    I like the wind in it. It makes me think of keen, as in sharp and as in mourning or wailing for the dead. As in caoineadh, Irish for crying.

  6. Rachel Fox says:

    Plus I want to know who was on the phone!
    It's got the lot, evidently.
    x

  7. Colin Will says:

    Thanks for your comments. It is keening, Barbara, you are exactly right. I don't want to say more at the moment.

    Rachel: I did find out who the phone call was from, but only after I'd written the poem. Better that way.

Leave a Reply

