Son of Send Out

First, Happy Bloomsday!

I’ve celebrated by walking along Dunbar High Street, tipping my waterproof hat to the statue of John Muir, since if James Joyce visited Dunbar it’s not recorded, at least not sculpturally.

I’ve now sent off 20 poems to 5 mags. That’s exactly half of my current batch – the rest will go tomorrow. I’m going to put together a compilation of submission guidelines to the mags I regularly send to – might be bloggable.

PS
That’s all but one sent out, and the outstanding one is for an e-zine. How long until the first rejection?

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in James Joyce, poetry submissions. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Son of Send Out

  1. BarbaraS says:

    I love the picture, you've got your legs crossed the other way, which suits!

    Seeing you posting about subbing reminds me that I should get out some work and see what should go where!

  2. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Barbara. I don't know if anyone else does send-outs the way I do. It's kind of crazy – a whole year of work going out at once. I know others who send out all the time, but this is one of my rituals.

  3. Sorlil says:

    I'm thinking a yearly send-out sounds like not a bad idea!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Sounds like a great idea to me, who constantly has one or two to send to such and such a place, three or four to someone else and constantly trying to remember to get round to it, and what I've sent to whom, and guess what, a lot of them just end up on the pc/in the notebook. A yearly ritual would help me enormously by 1 – making sure anything decent I'd produced had a chance to find a niche somewhere and 2 – relieve a bit of the "Oh, I still haven't got round to that" pressure which I constantly place on myself due to my scatological sending.

    Thanks for the insight, mcw

  5. Crafty Green Poet says:

    I've just done a batch of send outs, had two rejections and an acceptance so far plus a belated acceptance from the previous haiku send out.

    I probably have three or four send outs a year and then often will send out the rejected poems somewhere else as soon as possible.

    Hope you get lots of acceptances!

Leave a Reply

