Anselm Hollo

I strongly support Salt Publishing and its current struggle to stay afloat (see the Just One Book campaign in blogs and elsewhere). One unexpected consequence for me of the appeal has been finding a ‘Selected’ by Anselm Hollo in the Salt list. I ordered it immediately, along with two other Salt titles, and I’m looking forward to reading it (and the others of course).

I first read Hollo’s poetry in the pages of Evergreen Review and Poor. Old. Tired. Horse. back in the 1960’s. His poetry at that time was fresh, original, sometimes humorous in an off-beat way, and clearly a product of a European outlook. He’s from Finland originally, but made his home in America in the late 1960’s. He now lives in Boulder, Colorado. In the 60s he was a poet of the underground movement (not the London subway system), and he’s represented in the Children of Albion anthology Michael Horowitz put together. If memory serves me, he took part in the Albert Hall reading with Ginsberg, Pete Brown, Adrian Mitchell et al, though I can’t remember if he’s in the film.

P.O.T.H. was edited by Ian Hamilton Finlay, and was one of the formative influences on my poetry reading. It was resolutely internationalist, at a time when Scottish writing seemed to me to have too narrow a focus. It was here that I first encountered Cid Corman, Lorine Niedecker, and the young Edwin Morgan.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Anselm Hollo, Salt Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anselm Hollo

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    Yes, I went and bought a Salt book I’d been thinking of getting for a while. It will be interesting to see if the much maligned blogging community can help save a publisher. Power to the people and all that.

    What a great title (the Poor. Old. Tired. Horse.). Write about Hollo more when you get the book will you?

    x

  2. Maureen Hurley says:

    I love it Colin, you’re plugging all our old SF poetry ikons, I remember Anselm Hollo well. We weren’t too sure what to make of him at the time but the buzz was always, “you gotts hear this guy read.” And so we did. Sonoma County was a huge draw for those who were burned out by City life.
    Somewhere in a drawer, I must have negatives of him from one reading or another…thanks for the memory jog.

Leave a Reply

