Travelling

Today the papers and radio are noting the archaeological and historical work being carried out on a World War I burial pit at Fromelles, in Northern France. It’s fascinating, particularly as I’m off to the Somme with some friends tomorrow. (There are 26 of us in total). The Fromelles ‘action’ was, I understand, intended to block a potential counter-attack, 40km north of the main Somme battleground. In a 24-hour period, over 5,000 Australians and over 1,000 British soldiers had been killed.

We’re visiting Ypres, Albert, Delville Wood, Thiepval Wood, Peronne and many other smaller sites. I know how moved I was visiting the WWII war grave at Bayeux some years ago, and I suspect this will even more affecting.

I’m taking with me Andrew Motion’s anthology of World War I poetry, which contains some less-well-known poets, as well as the more famous ones.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Somme, World War I. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Travelling

  1. shug says:

    We used to go every year. Make sure you go to Tyne Cot and the battlefield at Beaumont Hamel, where the Highland Division memorial is. tremendously moving places. If you’re going to the eccentric museum at Sanctuary Wood/Hill 62 keep away from the ham sandwiches.

  2. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Shug. Our CO is a retired history teacher who used to take school groups there. Some of my family, being from Buchan, were with the Gordon Highlanders, and I believe many Will names are on the casualty lists.

  3. BarbaraS says:

    That sounds like just the right sort of book to bring. I hope you bring back poems. Let us know how it goes 🙂

  4. Cadwallender says:

    Have a good visit Colin.
    Kevin

  5. Sorlil says:

    Hope you have a good trip. I remember going there as a kid with the school, some images I’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

