Off to St Andrews

I’m off to St Andrews on Wednesday for StAnza, so I’ll be offline for a few days. I usually mention here some of the sessions I’m attending. I’m chairing the two Past & Present sessions, featuring Marco Fazzini on Douglas Livingstone, Jay Parini on Robert Frost, Jenny Bornholdt on Lorine Niedecker, and Alan Gillis on Wallace Stevens. I’m also running a ‘homecoming haiku’ session during the Poets’ Market on Saturday afternoon – hope to see some of you there. Finally I’m introducing both Voices of Scotland sessions on the Sunday, featuring Martin MacIntyre and Nancy Somerville in the morning, and Dilys Rose and Judith Taylor in the afternoon.

I’ll be going to lots of the other sessions of course, including the Poetry & Jazz Jam on the Thursday and the Risk A Verse open mike on the Friday. I’ll be at the Translated Poets Lithuanian session on the Saturday to catch up with Sonata Paliulyte, Kornelijus Platelis and Kerry Shawn Keys, all of whom I met last year. Roddy Lumsden is introducing young poets on Friday morning, and I’m always keen to hear new voices. I’ll be at Kevin Cadwallender’s Cabaret session, Hardeep Singh Kohli’s In Conversation, some of the big evening sessions, and Jay Parini giving the StAnza lecture. And of course I’ll be at the Festival launch to hear the First Minister. I’ll be wearing the kilt for that, of course.

What are you going to?

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in StAnza. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Off to St Andrews

  1. BarbaraS says:

    Hope it goes really well. I’ll just have to sit on the sidelines here and sob… say hi to Ben W for me!

  2. Rachel Fox says:

    I’ll see you at the fri lunchtime one and the poets’ market (3 poets for fiver, c’mon ladies and gents, what will you offer me…). I’m also going to the poetry and song lyrics discussion (for my sins) and the morning Simon Armitage small group thing. Small Girl is going to the CADuffy with Grandma too. It will be a family affair…x

  3. Sorlil says:

    Looking forward to bumping into you all over the week-end!

  4. shug says:

    up for a pint on Friday night?

  5. apprentice says:

    I’ll see you Saturday. Going to Roddy Lumsden’s lunchtime gig before the pamphlet fair.

Leave a Reply

