Life is a succession of launches

Last night’s SPL duplex launch of Andrew Philip’s The Ambulance Box and Rob A Mackenzie’s The Opposite of Cabbages was a most enjoyable evening. The readings by the two poets were first class, and I thought they complemented each other very well. It’s always good to hear contrasting voices, and while their styles and choices of subject matter and treatment offer different pleasures, this was a fine showcase for both. I’m looking forward to reading my precious signed copies now! It was also a good occasion for Salt Publishing, one of the most innovative UK literary publishers. I always admire their book designs, and their covers are fantastic – always striking and imaginative. It was also a pleasure to meet another Salt author, Katy Evans-Bush, last night. Her collection Me and the Dead came out last year, and I recommended it at the time. She’s also one of my favourite bloggers (along with Rob of course), and she always has something interesting to say over at Baroque in Hackney.

You know how I hate to name-drop my dears – it always sounds so gossipy – but the Library was packed with as fine a gathering of writers and artists as I’ve seen in ages. Fears were expressed over the floor loading of the mezzanine, but having gone over the original architectural drawings with Malcom Fraser back in the 1990s I felt no qualms. (Oops, I dropped a name)

This Friday comes my launch of Irene Brown’s Glass Slippers, in the imaginative setting of the Duo Boots shoe shop, Castle Street, Edinburgh (7pm). I was really chuffed when Irene came up with the idea, and I’m delighted that the shop folk liked it too. Hopefully I’ll see some of you there. As you can see above, I like good cover design too.

Other Calder Wood Press titles are progressing nicely. Mary Johnston’s Fa dis she think she is? will be next, closely followed by Dave Purdie’s The Godothin, a Scots version of the Brythonic original. I’m almost embarrassed to say that the 2010 CWP list is already full, subject to confirmation. That happened within a fortnight. And my own new collection from Red Squirrel Scotland is on the stocks. AND StAnza starts next Wednesday, AND I’ve got loads to do before then. Must dash!

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in book launches, Calder Wood Press, Salt Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life is a succession of launches

  1. Andrew Philip says:

    Cheers, Colin! I had a whale of a time, but it would have been nothing without those who, like you, came along to listen and buy books. Hope you enjoy them both. I’m particularly looking forward to the Godothin. When’s the launch for that?

  2. Andrew Philip says:

    Oh and good luck for Irene’s launch. I don’t think I’ll make that one, I’m afraid.

  3. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Andrew. The Godothin is typeset, and we’re now discussing the cover.Colin

  4. BarbaraS says:

    Sounds like you had a fabulous time, Colin and there’s plenty more in store. Busy is as busy does and good to hear it’s all go for 2010 for Calder Wood… and indeed your own good self! Looking forward to that one.

  5. Tommaso Gervasutti says:

    Dear Colin, about influences I enjoyed Gerontion too most of all by Eliot and I read it first time in Italian when I was nineteen.For some reason the old man in a sleepy corner and the vacant shuttles waving the wind, though they are images of utter desolation, with their vastness and openness have always fascinated me…I remember I wrote a great number of poems in Italian wishing to imitate Eliot deliberately.His name had reached me first time quite by chance years before listening to Desolation Row by Bob Dylan:“Ezra Pound and T.S.Eliotfighting in the Captain’s Towerwhile Calipso singers laugh at themand fishermen hold flowers…”Best wishes, Davide

  6. Colin Will says:

    Barbara: <>The floorshow at the Mad Yak Café<> is starting to come together.Davide: You’re exactly right – there’s something fascinating about Eliot’s desolate inner landscapes, and the language he uses to describe them.

  7. Rob says:

    Thanks a lot, Colin. It was a blast. I hope you enjoy the books.

  8. SMSteele says:

    o what I wouldn’t give to be there… reading this is 2nd best… good luck with StAnza Colinone of these years I’ll be there…xoxfrom this side of the pond

  9. Colin Will says:

    Rob: it was a special night. Must touch base on the Tchai Ovna reading in April.SMS: Good to hear from you.

  10. apprentice says:

    I’m glad it was a good night. Alan Gay was getting me a copy of Rob’s book as I still can’t trust the car on doing too many long runs.See you at Irene’s launch tonight, as I’m on the till!

Leave a Reply

