If it’s March, …

… it must be hares. Poem taken down for revision. Thanks for the comments.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in hares, poem. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If it’s March, …

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    I like the Frost touch. It’s a well-known and well-used reference but it fits in very snugly and interestingly here.x

  2. Sorlil says:

    I envy your broad vocabularly, this is rich with great words.

  3. Sorlil says:

    Do you mind me asking how you generally set out to write a poem?

  4. Colin Will says:

    Sorlil: I usually get a line in my head and then, as Norman MacCaig once said, “the rest of the poem sort of trickles down the page.” That may not be an entirely accurate quote, but that was the sense of it, and my method is the same as his. I have no idea, when I start a poem, how it’s going to end. I like good endings. This one is autobiographical – the hare sightings all happened.

  5. BarbaraS says:

    There are some lovely word echoes in the line end words on 2+4 and 5+7. I like the exuberance of this; who doesn’t like spring?

  6. Gordon Mason says:

    I like how you identify the places of your memories, giving each a very brief description to allow the reader to picture it. And the names in Scotland are so poetic anyway.

  7. Sorlil says:

    Thanks very much for this, Colin, it’s always interesting to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

