Beginnings and Endings

It feels like 2009 is well under way now. Yesterday I received MSS from Mary Johnston and Dave Purdie, so I can start work on their books. Irene Brown and I are working on her cover design – the main text is edited and ready. Lillias Scott Forbes is sending me her final edits, and I’ve had a an initial enquiry from a national newspaper about her work, so that bodes very well.

On the writing front, I’ve long been an admirer of the work of the makar William Dunbar (c. 1460 – c. 1520), and reading his poem ‘Meditatioun in Wyntir’ recently I was inspired to write my own poem. I won’t call it a translation, because it steps well away from his original words and is clearly a thing of my own, but it uses some of the themes and concepts Dunbar used. The process of writing the poem has given me a taste for working on some other Dunbar poems.

Sadly, deaths are a feature of this time of year too, and I heard yesterday that one of my old friends, a colleague with whom I worked closely in West Lothian libraries in the 1960s, died at the weekend from breast cancer.

(Draft poem removed for editing)

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in William Dunbar. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beginnings and Endings

  1. BarbaraS says:

    I like that, despite things, there is still hope in the lengthening of days. I wonder did you have a fight with ‘ball’ in the last line and think of ‘globe’ a few times too: I quite like ball; the phrase reminds me of dice, or die really. Hmm.

  2. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Barbara. You’re right – I did think about globe, but I chose ball – the internal debate didn’t last long.

  3. apprentice says:

    I enjoyed hearing you this yesterday, and the discussion it provoked – def. a keeper.

  4. sms says:

    I think this is one of your loveliest Colin. so many fine lines, a real wisdom within. I love the ‘forgetfulness of age is a brotherly service.’ the only word that stopped the roll of thought and image and sound for me, was karma. it jarred, seemed anachronistic in a timeless piece.beautiful Colin, really beautiful. mature.

  5. Tommaso Gervasutti says:

    I really enjoyed the poem, the last two stanzas in particular, and the last four words most of all!Once more I have sensed the importance of the ending of a poem.My condolences first but then I wish you a happy 2009.Davide, Venice

  6. Colin Will says:

    Many thanks for the comments. I’m back from the mountains now, and I’ve taken the poem down. I wrote another new one while I was in the Cairngorms – it’s an inspirational place.

  7. deemikay says:

    Hi Colin, I just saw your comment at Rob’s blog about Mark Imlah, and came visiting. Very sad news.Your blog seems interesting and I hope you don’t mind if I come visiting occasionally. On the subject of William Dunbar, I also enjoy reading him and have churned out (chirn is the word) some versions of poems by him. I can’t find ‘Meditatioun in Wyntir’ in my copy of him. Does it have an alternate title? Or even just the first line? And it’s a shame I missed the chance to read your version.

  8. SMSteele says:

    Colin’s was just lovely.Fab picture Colin. makes me miss Scotland very much.

Leave a Reply

