This season

Winterlude

Frost haze hangs over the stiff furrows,
whitens fields with iced wheat stems.
A brown layer of trapped smoke,
a line against the pale sky, shows the limit
of this cold, dense air-bubble – an invisible
inversion. The Bass Rock rises
from a milk-blue sea, its base fog-blurred,
and to the long horizon, no horizon.

At this time, we feel the need for warmth,
for company, and if our forebears feasted
so can we. We gather further, winnow the world
for tropical fruits, exotic spices, tangy sauces.
No borders to bounty, no boundaries to taste,
no limits to wanting, because we can have.

And to those who have not? We give, we must,
for now we see that difference makes us all
the same. Need is universal, want is just the way
we choose to live.

Copyright © Colin Will
First published in Poetry Scotland

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Dunbar, photos, poem, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This season

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    Winter to a t.I just went back to read your ‘Tick’ – I have had it on my mind for a while. For what it’s worth I think ‘Tick’ is the best poem I have read on a blog this year and probably one of the best I have read all year full-stop. No wonder it won you a prize.x

  2. Colin Will says:

    Wow! Thanks Rachel, that’s very heartening.

  3. Sorlil says:

    Lovely imagery and language, I really enjoyed this.

  4. Crafty Green Poet says:

    I enjoyed this very much, especially the frost haze,

  5. Anna Russell says:

    Very evocotive. I likd the alliteration in “invisible inversion” – the seperate lines for the two words gave it a bit of a punch. A lovely winter scene. HugsAnna xxx

  6. Anna Russell says:

    I’ve just realised that I think you’re the very same Colin Will who published the first poems (The Perfect Tear and The Highland Matriarch) I ever got published on Open Mouse. Either that or it’s an extremely odd coincidence! Don’t worry, I know with all the people you deal with it’s highly unlikely you’ll remember me, but if it is you, then I just wanted to say thank you so much. As I’m sure you know, the first time someone outside of yer ma tells you you can write, it’s a pretty great experience, and one you carry with you.

  7. Rev Ruth says:

    Thanks Colin, this is really thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

