Two launches

It’s been a busy week, with Jayne Wilding’s launch in St Monans on Monday night.

Sky blue notebook from the Pyrenees was unwrapped in the Harbour Howff Cafe, on a chilly night in the East Neuk. The atmosphere in the cafe was warm and friendly, however. As well as Jayne, two other St Monans poets read – John Brewster and Gordon Meade. After the reading, walking back to my car, it was lovely looking out over the dark Forth, and seeing the lights of Sunny Dunny just across the water. So near yet so far.

Then on Thursday night, it was across to the other side of the country, to Helensburgh, for Catriona Malan’s launch of Love Affair With Mussels.

This launch was held in Helensburgh library, with a large and enthusiastic audience. Our mutual friend Doreen, who helped me to select and edit the collection, and who took the cover photograph, also provided the refreshments and nibbles on the night. Having been brought up in the area she met up with a lot of old friends. And the Area Librarian recognised me from the pages of Information Scotland, the librarians’ journal. (I wrote a column in in it for six years). It was another lovely occasion, and I’m glad the snow forecast was as innacurate as the hurricane forecast of a few years ago.

I’m delighted too that Jayne will be having an Edinburgh launch on Thursday 18th December, in Edinburgh Central Library’s Conference Room (7.30pm). Email me through the Calder Wood Press website if you’d like to join us – all welcome. As an extra, I’ll be reading a short extract from my novel in progress – The consoling fire – which is set in the same area as Jayne’s poetry, but 8 centuries earlier at the time of the Cathar Crusade.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in book launch, Calder Wood Press. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Two launches

  1. Tommaso Gervasutti says:

    Dear Colin, for some reason this post of yours brings me back to the hectic and friendly atmosphere I enjoyed in Edimburgh the three times I visited it in the 90's.I was staying in a Wolsey Lodge B&B near the sea and had dinner at the Starbank in front of the sea and one evening nearby in a huge red metal flat building which was an excellent Fish and Chips.In those days I was an enthusiast of poetry published by Bloodaxe, and in Waterstone's Edimburgh I had bought one of the craziest and most stunning collection ever, by a famous Irish: Brendan Kennelly's "Poetry My Arse".

  2. Colin Will says:

    Hectic and friendly – that sums it up neatly Davide. I know the Starbank at Newhaven, and the Fish and Chips place would be Harry Ramsden’s. It’s interesting that both of the poets launched this week live by the sea, as I do. Maybe we share an outlook on the world.

  3. Sorlil says:

    A novel on the go as well? You are a busy guy!

  4. Colin Will says:

    The novel’s been on the go for a while, but Kate Mosse’s Labyrinth knocked the wind out of my sails – too many superficial similarities. So I’ve gone back to the drawing board and restarted. It’s now set entirely in 1209, in the Corbiere region of France. And it doesn’t have the Grail in it. And it doesn’t feature a cave. And I’ve changed the names of 4 of my main characters – they were spookily identical to 4 of Ms Mosse’s.

  5. Sorlil says:

    That must be a nightmare! I picked up a copy of Mosse’s Labyrinth months ago, haven’t got around to reading it yet.

  6. Colin Will says:

    Apparently that kind of thing happens all the time. I’ve heard similar stories from several others.

  7. Rachel Fox says:

    Also excited in Montrose about Will novel idea!x

  8. Tommaso Gervasutti says:

    If you look for really unexpected and original metaphors and similes I strongly recommend “A Fraction of the Whole” first novel by the Australian novelist Steve Toltz.Absolutely entertaining, engaging and stunning.A breath of fresh air that injects energy into everyone who wants to write.

  9. Colin Will says:

    Thanks all. BTW, I took the names of my Cathar characters from the Inquisition records, so it’s not surprising that another writer used the same ones. We both wanted to have period authenticity, and there aren’t that many sources for the 13th century. But Esclarmonde is too nice a name to get rid of, so I’m using a historical Esclarmonde in my case.

Leave a Reply

