Publishing programme 2009

I said I’d announce my 2009 programme in December, so here goes:

The first two titles are

  • Glass Slippers, poems by Irene Brown
  • A Hesitant Opening of Parasols, poems by Lillias Scott Forbes (who will be 90 this month)

Both of these are due in February, and they’re at an advanced stage of editing.

Next will come new poetry collections by Mary Johnston and Jane Wilde.

Dave Purdie’s translation of The Godothin* into Scots is already well known to his friends, and I’m delighted to announce that he’s next, together with poetry by Hilary Graham, a friend from Greenlaw.

The final pairing of the year is a collection of humorous verse from Gerry Urwin, and a collection of short stories by Jill Madden, a Dunbar writer who won the Tyne & Esk Writers Writer of the Year competition this year.

That’s the plan at least. I’ve not put dates in for the later ones, but I’ll announce that later.

*I’ll blog about the Godothin later, but they were the tribe which occupied the Lothians and Northumberland in the late Iron Age, and during the Roman occupation of what’s now southern Scotland (but wasn’t then). Their fortresses included Din Eydin (Edinburgh) Din Pender (Traprain Law) and Din Baer (Dunbar). The Latin form of their name is Votadini. Their language was Brythonic, related to the Welsh language.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Calder Wood Press, publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Publishing programme 2009

  1. Sorlil says:

    Hi Colin, just out of interest how long does the process take of working with the author and putting together a collection?

  2. Colin Will says:

    Hi Sorlil. It depends on the author. I start by discussing the process with them, and we agree on how we’re going to work together. Usually I ask for about 40-odd poems, and then the selection is two-way. I’ll make a list of my choices of between 25 and 30, and the author will do the same. Then we get together to compare lists. If they match, then that’s fine, but there’s more often some come and go between us. Then I’ll put the selection into a sequence I think makes sense, and again we’ll discuss that. Then there’s the first make-up, and I may need to do some light text editing with the author. Then I finalise the design, including typography, layout, cover etc and do a second mockup. Once everything’s agreed, I make the PDFs and take it to the printer. I find if we take our time in the early stages, getting it right, then the final stages are completed within weeks. I tend to do the timeline backwards: we agree on a launch month, and I work out when I’ll need to start the editing, then I work out when I’ll need a final MS. It probably works out over a three month period, but the author and I may have discussed the project for much longer. Dave’s Godothin is already written, so that’ll be very quick, although the cover design might take a while. With Jayne Wilding it was a different process. She hadn’t even written any of the poems when we first talked about it. I encouraged her to write the new poems, and I suggested I’d need the MS by 15th October. She delivered, we worked together on the book design (have I said already it’s a thing of great beauty?), and it was launched last night. So it’s hard to generalise. The authors are all individuals – more than that, they’re my friends – so it’s always an individual process, and I absolutely love it. In terms of creativity, it comes a close second to my own writing (which seems to happen at the same time).

  3. Sorlil says:

    Very interesting, Colin, thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

