Friday night in the Forest

I was in the Forest Cafe in Edinburgh on Friday, for an evening of poetry and music. The poets were Rachel Fox (who also organised the evening) and Hugh McMillan, with a guest appearance by Claire Askew, who runs the excellent One Night Stanzas site. Rachel gave an excellent reading, mostly from her collection More about the song, and also some new poems. Hugh was on great form, mixing poems from Postcards from the Hedge, with some older and some newer poems. I first heard Hugh read in the 1990’s, and we both graced the pages of the much-missed Cencrastus in that decade – often in the same issues, as I recall.

Between sets we had some great music from some outstanding musicians.

The poets:
Rachel Fox

Hugh McMillan

Claire Askew

And the musicians:

Andy Spiller

Kevin O’Donnell

Charlie Williamson

Pauline Hynd

and Kim Edgar

A knock-out night out.
About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Forest Cafe, Hugh McMillan, Rachel Fox. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday night in the Forest

  1. BarbaraS says:

    Sounds fantastic, SD – thanks for the pics… (yay Rachel 🙂 )

  2. Sorlil says:

    Sounds like a great night and I love the pics!

  3. Colin Will says:

    It was a really good night. The venue is lively and informal too, and I recommend it for anyone thinking of doing a similar gig.

  4. Rachel Fox says:

    Thanks Colin! As you can all see my hair and make-up team were caught up in traffic… or something. Damn that J-lo.x

  5. shug says:

    great photos Colin. It was a fantastic evening I thought, and the venue’s one I’ll try and use again.Cencrastus is a great miss. I thought there was going to be a big blow out ceilidh/reading to celebrate/lament its demise but if there was I missed it.

  6. Rachel Fox says:

    p.s. great long rambling bird’s eye view thing up over at my place now.x

  7. hope says:

    Thanks for the pictorial proof. That’ll hold me until Rachel’s beloved gets the video up and running.I’m glad so many of you were there to support Rachel and Hugh. Thanks for bringing half a world away closer to my doorstep.

  8. McGuire says:

    Good to see the photos Colin. I actually recognised you immediately, sitting with your wise and warm beard. One day, I will be reading at the Forest Cafe. I’ll let you know when that day arrives.

  9. Colin Will says:

    Thanks mcguire. Aye, the beard’s quite cosy.

Leave a Reply

