Colin in America – before Stephen Fry

Last night I was reading at the Great Grog (see below) and I missed Stephen Fry in America. However, I’ve just watched it on BBC iPlayer, and was gobsmacked, because when DunbarJane and I were there in 97? we saw many of the same places.
Like Monument Valley.

Lake Powell (we flew over it – there’s swank),
The Rainbow Bridge (it’s in the middle, spanning the river)

And most gobsmacking of all, we visited a Navajo hogan and met a lady called Sally. I don’t know if it was the same hogan, and if she was the same Sally Stephen Fry met, but I hope so. She was lovely.
* Here’s my set-list for the Grog reading – it seemed to meet with audience approval.
Spermsong
Old Campaigner
Manoeuvres
Don’t
The Red-Eye
Exiles
Entering your poem
Day Tripper
On the door of the dacha
The ‘To-Do’ List
The crocodiles of Dundee
About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Arizona. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Colin in America – before Stephen Fry

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    Some intriguing titles…Spermsong? Don’t…The ‘to do’ list…makes me wonder what they’re like…

  2. Colin Will says:

    I’ve had some very positive feedback from those who were there, so I’m happy. These are all new or new-ish poems, so I’m even happier. They’ll be in my next collection (2010).

  3. BarbaraS says:

    …for which we must wait to read these intriguing titles.So, you’re saying that Stephen Fry robbed your itinery… amazing pictures!

  4. apprentice says:

    Great photos Colin. I’m glad your set went well. I’m sorry to have missed it – but I take it you had good news about the collection, which is wonderful and well deserved.Good luck tonight.I need new tyres on the car and I’m waiting for he who must be obeyed to cough up for them, so I’m trying not going far at the moment.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Enjoyed the selection, Colin. Relieved some of the tension as well!ABJ

  6. Colin Will says:

    Thanks A. and A. I re-read Fire Stations this morning – excellent.

  7. Rob says:

    Yes, thanks for a fine reading, Colin. As I said to you, the best set I’ve heard you read.

Leave a Reply

