Slamming

Last night, along with 15 other poets, I took part in the VoxBox Half Century Slam at the Meadow Bar in Edinburgh. The last time I took part in a slam was in 1996, and it wasn’t a good experience, so I approached this one with some trepidation. However, it turned out to be a great night. The standard of poetry was very high; there was a good mixture of funny and serious, and a huge variety of different reading styles. I’ve no idea how these things are judged, but the winner was Mike Dillon, an old friend from the West End Hotel ‘Poems and Pints’ sessions back in the 90’s. I didn’t come close – maybe somewhere halfway up the list – but that was OK with me. And the company was great.

This morning I discovered that members of the Dunbar Writers’ Group were extremely successful in the Tyne & Esk Writers Writer of the Year Awards last night. A ‘highly commended’ and a winner in the East Lothian Poetry section, the winner of the East Lothian Prose section, AND the overall Writer of the Year. It’s been great to see members of the group develop over the years.

I’m reading at the Great Grog on Sunday, and next Tuesday Anne Connolly and I are reading at the Central Library, Edinburgh.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in poetry readings, slams. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slamming

  1. BarbaraS says:

    15 poets is no small beer when it comes to competing in a slam, so well done for making it as far as you did.It’s all good news lately; have you seen the TLS shortlist yet, there’s a couple of interesting ones in the list for voting…

  2. Sorlil says:

    The only slam I’ve ever been to was at last year’s StAnza, I was crying with laughter at some of the performances.

Leave a Reply

