National (ie UK) Poetry Day

Today is National Poetry Day, and it’s being marked in a number of different ways. The Forward Prizes for poetry were announced, and the best collection one went to Mick Imlah’s The Lost Leader (as I predicted here). Best first collection went to Kathryn Simmonds’ Sunday in the Skin Launderette, which I’ve read and enjoyed. Best single poem was judged to be by Don Paterson. It’s been said already that the selection reflects the conservative tastes of the judging panel, and that may be true, but I can’t honestly disagree with their choices this time. I favoured Simon Barraclough’s collection Los Alamos Mon Amour as best first collection, and Tim Turnbull’s poem as best single poem. However, all of the short-listed collections and poems were well worth reading this time, so to my mind it was a good field.

Also announced today is the McCash Award – See Lesley Duncan’s Herald blog. Rab Wilson won it this time – a fine, energetic and likeable poet.

The Scottish Poetry Library has produced the Poetry Cards again this year, and I’m looking forward to picking up a set next time I’m in. (I’ll be there to retrieve my bunnet, another of my serially misplaced objects, only this time I did remember where I’d left it.)

Elspeth Murray was one of the poets featured on a Radio 4 programme this morning, along with Tom Chivers and others. The programme concerned itself with this year’s NPD theme of ‘Work’, and the poets were all in residencies in the workplace.

My own ‘Working Mothers’ poem should be out in an anthology soon, and I’ll post the details later.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Forward Prize, National Poetry Day, Scottish Poetry Library. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to National (ie UK) Poetry Day

  1. Tina says:

    Hooray for National Poetry Day! Here’s a post I found that I think you’ll enjoy:http://www.petermanseye.com/anthologies/why-i-like/313-people-s-poetsCheers to good writing. 🙂

  2. Colin Will says:

    Thanks tina – I did enjoy that.

  3. apprentice says:

    I hope you bunnet turns up! And good news all round on Anne’s collection

  4. Colin Will says:

    Thanks apprentice. I can manage without the bunnet, but my notebook’s more troublesome – it had some notes I need soon. Is that you back from the island of sunshine and flowers? How was it?

  5. Melody-Jane Symonds says:

    I’ll have to see if Radio 4 have the broadcast available online.

  6. Colin Will says:

    It’s available to listen again on the Radio 4 website – Blood, Sweat, Tears and Poetry is what it was called.

Leave a Reply

