Post Callander 2

The photos of Callander are all uploaded into a new gallery page on the Poetry Scotland website. Some poems and other feedback are coming in, and I’ll post them there.

+++++++++++

Today (11 September) one of Dave Purdie’s poems from The Biggers is in The Herald, and on its blog. I am so pleased to see the poem there, and I hope Lesley Duncan will choose some others from this and other Calder Wood Press titles in future.

Talking of which, I’ve been working on Donald McKinney’s volume of short stories today. The title is Why We Howl At the Moon; stories for the 21st century. I think it’s brilliant. The contents and sequence are agreed, I’ve finished text editing, and I’m now on to typesetting, page design, prelims etc. We’ve discussed the cover, and I’ll design that tomorrow. I’m using POD technology for this book, as the quotes I got for conventional printing put it outside my financial comfort zone. There’s a huge difference between pamphlet and book publishing.

++++++++++++

One of the Dunbar Writers’ projects I’m working on is a 2009 calendar. Members of the group were each allocated a month and asked to supply an image and appropriate text. At the moment only one month is outstanding. We’ll get it printed using POD again, and sell some copies locally for funds.

++++++++++++

I’m also gearing up for a short trip to Paris – you know how it is – somebody has to go. I’m looking forward to visiting the Musee Marmottan – never been there before – and we’ll find time to see the Musee d’Orsai – my favourite gallery in Paris. Yes, I know the Louvre is fantastic, but d’Orsai is on a more human scale. I like the Beauburg too. Did I mention that I love French cuisine? I picked a fine time to go on a diet, as they might have said in ‘Airplane’.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Callander Poetry Weekend 2008, Paris, Poetry Scotland, publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post Callander 2

  1. BarbaraS says:

    Ah, the city of light. I love, love, love Paris! It’s a tough job but someone’s got to do it! Your upcoming projects sound exciting 🙂

Leave a Reply

