Poems in Scots

One of the readings I’m doing on my next trip to Moray in October is of contemporary poetry in Scots. I’m interpreting this to include Scottish dialects, as well as Lallans, the literary Scots tongue. So I’ll include Glasgow, the Doric, Shetlandic and other local ways of speaking.

It occurrs to me to wonder which poets writing in Scots readers might recommend? I’d be very interested to see how your suggestions might compare with my list. So, it’s over to you, Gentle Readers. Don’t forget, it’s contemporary writers – nae deid anes. Who are your favourites? I’ll give you my list after I get your comments.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in poetry, Scots, Scottish dialects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poems in Scots

  1. Colin Will says:

    Here are some of the names already on my list:Tom LeonardW N HerbertChristine de LucaSheena BlackhallMary JohnstonDavid C PurdieMaureen SangsterLiz NivenRab WilsonIrene BrownWho else should join them?

  2. BarbaraS says:

    Watching with interest, from over here. I didn’t know Herbert would be included on your list. I know him as a co-author on the OU Creative Writing course book. Some people weren’t that fond of him, but I liked his ideas.

  3. Colin Will says:

    I’ve known Bill for a long time. His well-known Lallans poem ‘To A Mousse’ was written at a kitchen table, contemplating an Arvon chocolate pudding that wouldn’t set – I think I may have contributed a word or two – but watching his creative imagination at work was amazing. He’s a former Writer-in-Residence to Moray, so some of the local writers remember him with fondness.As well as being immensely creative and original in the Lallans, I love the poems written in his native Dundee dialect.

Leave a Reply

