Shan-shui

I haven’t posted a poem for a while, so here goes. It’s in the ‘mountains and rivers’ style again, but in contrast to the Chinese mountain wanderers, who wrote about the calls of gibbons and the tracks of tigers in the cloud mountains of Sishuanbanna, this is set in Scotland’s top left corner, my beloved Assynt, on a May morning, en route to climb Suilven. The wildlife is less exotic, but it’s ours.

Poem taken down for refreshment. Many thanks for the comments.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Assynt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shan-shui

  1. BarbaraS says:

    I think it appropriate to see something like this, recalling the potential of the summer that never was (well at least that’s what happened here).It reminds me so much of how well everything looked, back a few fleet months ago…

  2. Colin Will says:

    It was a gorgeous time in Assynt in May, and yet back home it was cold and grey. We had a good spell in June, and early July was warm and sunny, but since then it’s been awful. I’ve not tried any of my shan-shui poems on editors yet – wonder how I’ll get on.

  3. Rachel Fox says:

    Really like this one…especially the ‘hard-wired…’ bit and the last two lines.One for the ‘Herald’ perhaps. She publishes nature poetry with a kick quite often I notice and I think this qualifies.x

  4. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Rachel. The Herald recently published one of Jo Gibson’s poems, and I’m hoping she’ll publish more Calder Wood Press poets soon. (Reminds me, I haven’t checked her blog yet today).

  5. apprentice says:

    You really do this style well. I love all the sounds you’ve woven in. Funny today I was trying to write about trout too.Rachel’s right the Herald might like this, but she tends to go with seasons doesn’t she?.

Leave a Reply

