Forward Prize shortlists

Roddy Lumsden has listed the Forward Prize shortlists on the Poets On Fire forum, so I won’t repeat it here, but it’s an interesting list. Some years it’s fairly predictable, but I’m pleased to see this time several entries which I think are original and interesting.

In the Main Prize category I’m not going to take bets on the winner, but I’m delighted that Jen Hadfield’s Nigh-No-Place is in there. There are a couple I’m not familiar with, so I’ll see if the Scottish Poetry Library has them in stock.

For First Book I’m not surprised to see Frances Leviston’s Public Dream is there – I think it’s an excellent debut. My old friend Andrew Forster’s Fear of Thunder is also there, and it’s a bit embarrassing to say that I haven’t yet read this collection – another ‘must read’ one for me.

I enjoyed reading Don Paterson’s Love Poem for Natalie ‘Tusja’ Beridze, one of the entries in the Single Poem category, but Tim Turnbull’s Ode on a Grayson Perry Urn gets my vote for the most outrageous title.

+++++++++++++++++

Spent this afternoon selecting poems for an October Calder Wood Press title – very exciting.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Forward Prize, poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

