Dunbar

Dunbar in a northerly. That was two weeks ago. The weather this week has been different. Here’s a new poem:

Poem removed for revision

+++++++++++++++++

Complete change of tack, but today’s Independent carries an obituary of Johnny Griffin, wonderful tenor sax player who worked with Thelonious Monk, among many others. I could never make up my mind whether I preferred Charlie Rouse or Johnny G on Monk’s quartet recordings. Maybe, if he’s finished his week of blues, George Szirtes will blog some Griffin? If not, I might.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Dunbar, Johnny Griffin, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dunbar

  1. Tommaso Gervasutti says:

    Johnny Griffin & Steve Grossman, a marvellous CD produced in France is what will make me remember Johnny Griffin.This is a great loss.Let's send our best in the meantime to Sonny Rollins and Ornette Coleman who, I think and hope, are alive and kicking, though certainly not at all young.Best wishes, Davide

  2. BarbaraS says:

    Having experienced the ‘haar’ first-hand in Edinburgh in May, I’ve a better appreciation for the way it sneaks up on people. We’ve been having partial haars this week here on the east coast of Ireland due to our very, very weird weather… lovely work Colin.

  3. Colin Will says:

    Davide: I tried to find a Griffin/Monk combination on Youtube, but without success so far.Barbara: many thanks. The weather’s changed at last, but I think we may have thunder tonight.

  4. Rachel Fox says:

    We had the haar and then the storms. I don’t think I’ve ever heard louder thunder – it was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

