Lithuania

Off to Lithuania Thursday morning to take part in the 4th International Poetry Festival in Utena, north of Vilnius. Eleanor Livingstone and I are reading for Scotland, as it were, with poets from the Baltic states, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine and Russia, plus others we ‘re not quite sure of.

The last week has been so crowded that I haven’t had time to properly prepare my readings yet, but I’ll have do it later today, and finalise the order on the plane.

I’ve not been to any of the Baltic states before, and I’m looking forward to it very much. I don’t speak any Lithuanian, but I’m hoping that a melange of English, German and Russian will get me by. The organisers asked for some of our poems in advance, so they could be translated into Lithuanian, and it will be an interesting experience to see how that has worked out. We’re giving readings in regional towns, as well as Utena itself.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Lithuania, poetry reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

