One poem, two versions

Poems taken down for working on. Many thanks for the comments.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in poem, shan-shui, sonnet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One poem, two versions

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    I like some of the details in the second poem/version (e.g. the sky ‘mixed and busy’) but overall the first feels less forced and more engaging. Considering the subject matter (‘simply in the now’) I think the less forced the better. Plus I like sonnets.But hey, what do I know?

  2. Sorlil says:

    This goes to show how differently poems are read – I much prefer the second and find it less forced and much more engaging than the first, completely the opposite of Rachel! Down to taste I guess – the first one’s more of a straight-talking style and the second is lead very much by internal sonics, to my ear anyway.

  3. Cailleach says:

    I like both, but lean towards the first. Again, the conversational style gets me.

Leave a Reply

