Blogbreak

I’m off to Lochinver at the weekend on a ‘Top Left Corner’ Writers’ Retreat at the Glencanisp Lodge, and I may not have time to blog anything before then. I was there last year and it was terrific. I haven’t got any definite plans for writing this time, but I’ll be doing the initial editing of a new chapbook – making a ‘first cut’ from an MS portfolio. I’m thinking about the waters of the world just now too, and something may come out of that. I also need to catch up with my reading – I seem to have a lot of unfinished books on my shelves at the moment. I’ll definitely take ‘Mountain Home; the wilderness poems of ancient China, translated by David Hinton. There’s an honourable tradition of such poetry in China which extends before and after Han Shan (Cold Mountain), the one I’m most familiar with. I would take Ezra Pound’s Cantos, but I think he might unduly influence anything I might write myself. W.S. Merwin’s ‘Migration’ and Pattiann Rogers’ ‘Wayfare’ are two others on my list.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Chinese poetry, Glencanisp, Lochinver. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogbreak

  1. Rachel Fox says:

    So you won’t even be sending us a postcard?

  2. Colin Will says:

    It’s a couple of miles to the Lochinver PO Rachel, but I just love the feeling of complete isolation at Glencanisp – no wi-fi, no mobile signal, no external demands.Colin

  3. Rachel Fox says:

    Alright, I’ll let you off this time.Have a great trip.

Leave a Reply

