Payment for poems

I had an email tonight from someone asking if I paid for poems on the Open Mouse page of the Poetry Scotland website. I nearly said (but didn’t) that if he could point me to a website that does pay for poems I’d submit there myself. What I did say was that the site has no income, so it can’t pay anything out.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in income, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Payment for poems

  1. Rob says:

    Heh. I think some U.S originated webzines do actually pay. Pedestal is one – http://www.thepedestalmagazine.com/. Also Blackbird – http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/index.htm. So you better get submitting!I’m not sure how they do it – they must have some generous benefactors.

  2. Crafty Green Poet says:

    I had someone recently ask me the same question about my poetry blog mag Bolts of Silk – maybe the same person?

  3. Colin Will says:

    Thanks Rob, I’ll bookmark these generous people. I think the last mag that paid me was Ambit.Could be, Juliet. Some people have strange ideas – poetry websites profitable?

  4. Anonymous says:

    And boomerang ezine, of fond memory, used to pay £50 for a short poem – they had a grant from London Arts for that purpose, IIRC. Amazing as that sounds, these days.Anne

  5. Dick says:

    I got a fiver once…

Leave a Reply

