On the bookshelf

On my bookshelf at the moment:

1. I’m re-reading George B Schaller’s Wildlife of the Tibetan Steppe, since returning from that region. It puts it in some ecological perspective. We didn’t see chiru (Tibetan antelope), but we saw some of the other Tibetan ungulates.

2. Earth Shattering: ecopoems, ed by Neil Astley. I’m doing an eco-poetry workshop in December, so this has come out just at the right time.

3, 4 and 5 : Robert Hass: Time and Materials, Frerick Seidel: Selected Poems, Brian Turner: Here, Bullet. Catching up with three American poets.

6. Frances Leviston: Public Dream. Looking forward to reading this fine poet’s first collection.

7. Luke Kennard: The Harbour Beyond the Movie. Halfway through this excellent collection.

8. Sophie Hannah: Pessimism for Beginners. The PBS choice this season. I’ve enjoyed her previous collections – haven’t started this one yet.

9. Robert Crawford: Scotland’s Books. The Penguin history of Scottish literature.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in books, ecology, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the bookshelf

  1. Rob says:

    I was thinking about getting Hass’s book? Is it as good as I think it’s going to be?

  2. Colin Will says:

    I’m not yet halfway through it Rob, but I’m very impressed. You get the sense that there’s a serious mind behind the poems. There isn’t a word here that hasn’t been carefully thought about. And yet he is straightforward to read. His best poems in this collection have taken me through from beginning to end in an enjoyable way, and yet there are subtleties that repay a more careful read. One I think you’ll appreciate is Tomas Transtromer: Song.

  3. Rob says:

    I like what I’ve read of Hass. His <>Meditations at Lagunitas<> is one of my favourite poems by anyone. And his book of criticism, 20th Century Pleasures, is brilliant.I think I’ll go for it, along with something by Mark Strand – not sure whether to go for his latest 2006 collection, which is supposedly one of his best, or the new 288-page selected poems just out on Knopf.

  4. Andrew Shields says:

    And what of the Turner?

  5. Colin Will says:

    Very vivid poems Andrew. I haven’t quite finished it, and I’ll want to read it through again, but he impresses me very much. I’d like to re-read Keith Douglas too, as probably the closest comparison. I’m looking forward to meeting him at the StAnza Poetry Festival next year. Colin

Leave a Reply

