StAnza 2007

What else could it be, on a cauld sleety day, but a piece about StAnza? I’m not going to review the events, nor is this a diary of what happened this year. I am going to say a huge thank you to all the poets who took part, to the super audiences who came along to hear them, and to the army of volunteers who worked so hard to make it happen. I thought it was staggeringly successful this year, on all sorts of levels, artistic and poetic, as entertainment and inspiration.

I will just single out one ‘happening’ for a mention. At the end of the ‘100 Poets Gathering’, when just over 100 poets stood to read their one poem each, I was there when Alastair Reid burned his poem ‘Scotland’. That’s something I can tell my grandchildren, although it’s not something they’ll appreciate for some years yet. We have moved on. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the poem, but Scotland has changed since 1971. Halle-effing-luiah!

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

