This time last year


This time last year I was about to go into hospital for an operation. It was one of those situations where I’d been on the waiting list for ages, but it wasn’t really the waiting list, because I hadn’t been seen by the consultant, so it didn’t count. The clock only started ticking when I’d had my appointment, and it had almost reached the target date when I got the call. We had already booked a long weekend in Skye for the end of November, and surgery was planned for the following week. I put it out of my mind completely when we drove North. It had snowed heavily beforehand, but driving conditions were perfect, and the scenery was as convincing as it gets – sometimes Scotland really is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen.

Skye was terrific. Our previous visit had been more than 40 years earlier, before we were married. We were on a climbing course in the Cuillin – awesome and terrifying in equal measure. Good to look back on though. We went back to Glenbrittle, naturally, but we also visited some parts of the island we hadn’t seen before – not having a car in 1964. I took this photo of Beinn Cailleach (the Peak of the Old Woman), on our way to Elgol.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This time last year

  1. apprentice says:

    Lovely reflection, and a perfect capture.Thanks for the kind words tonight.

  2. Askinstoo says:

    Hey everyone, I’m new! ….. just made my profile. Everyone says I need to share something so I Just thought I’d let you know a place where I made an extra $800 last month!< HREF="http://www.always-cruising.info/for_extra_cash/" REL="nofollow">Click here to find out more!<>Be sure to check out my new page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

